Soya and Linseed Loaf

This recipe is from Dan Lepard. The bread doesn’t contain any egg, butter or milk products, but stays soft & moist for days because of the soya protein in the soy milk. You may see Dan’s reply here.

I used King Arthur All Purpose Flour and rye flour from a local shop to prepare the dough. The dough was quite sticky at the beginning, but after using Dan’s first fermentation method, gluten was formed like usual easily. The resulted crumb of the bread was soft but a bit chewy.

I could not taste the soy milk flavor in the bread, and the taste was similar to light wheat bread. There was also linseed in every bite. Crust was a bit thicker than usual. Overall, I like this healthy loaf and will make again. :)

Recipe: In Dan Lepard’s Forum or the Guardian

Previous Post
Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. I would definitely try soya milk in my next bread. Thanks for the tip.

    Reply
  2. hey~ long time no “leave msg”! hehe~
    i can see that you’re turing into a bread expert! they all look soooooo nice!

    Reply
  3. I guess the magic of soya milk, that is , the soya oil.

    I try many times. Fat can slower the degeneration of breads and also, the most important is that, don’t over baked the bread!!

    My lightly baked bread with fat can retained one week without reheat, whereas the Frence breads, even gluten was well developed and with poolish and long fermintation, just 1/2 day live!

    Reply
  4. Hi! Silvia! Maybe it’s the blog design that makes my bread look more expert? :p

    Reply
  5. Hi! A Moon! I thought it was soy oil too, but I got a reply from Dan, it’s because of the soy protein. It’s a bit detailed but interesting. You may see the reply as in my edited post.

    Reply
  6. This is very hot info. I think I’ll share it on Twitter.

    Reply
  7. when i cook at home, i always make sure that i only cook healthy recipes because i don’t want to get fat ,-*

    Reply
  8. Hi, I do think this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it ;) I am going to return yet again since I saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

    Reply
  9. I seriously love your website.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you create this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own blog and would love to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

    Reply
    • Hello,
      Apology for my late reply. The website is not created by myself. The theme is from wordpress which is free of charge. :) Theme is called COMET by design house FROSTPRESS. You could find the links at the bottom of this site. Cheers!
      Nat

      Reply
  10. great publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector do not understand this. You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you have a huge readers’ base already!

    Reply
  11. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post! It’s the little changes that will make the most significant changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

    Reply
  12. Good article. I am facing a few of these issues as well..

    Reply
  13. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who had been doing a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me dinner because I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this topic here on your site.

    Reply
  14. new facebook hacker

     /  April 25, 2013

    Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

    Reply
  15. account facebook hacker

     /  April 25, 2013

    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Kudos

    Reply
  16. I blog frequently and I really thank you for your content. Your article has really peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

    Reply
  17. facebook hacker

     /  April 29, 2013

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good site!

    Reply
  18. An fascinating dialogue is value comment. I think that it is best to write extra on this subject, it might not be a taboo topic but generally people are not sufficient to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    Reply
  19. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been doing a little homework on this. And he actually bought me dinner due to the fact that I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to discuss this subject here on your blog.

    Reply
  20. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this post and also the rest of the site is also very good.

    Reply
  21. This is really interesting, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to looking for extra of your excellent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

