BBD#21 – Genzano Potato Pizza

Happy 2nd anniversary to Bread Baking Day! I would love to celebrate the big day with this delicious Genzano Potato Pizza.

The theme for WBD is pizza this time. I wanted to try something interesting, and this recipe from Daniel Leader is exactly what I want. The pizza does not have tomato and cheese like general ones. It is thin & crispy, has a deep potato flavor and most importantly a sharp note from the sea salt.  Perfect to enjoy with cold beer ;) .

Something to note is I used King Arthur All Purpose flour instead of high gluten indicated in the recipe. Hence the dough did not have full gluten development as it’s very wet. Also the recipe said the dough should be 1/2 inch thick in the sheet pan, but mine was only 1/4 inch. The recipe didn’t mention the size of the sheet pan. I looked on the web and found mine is a quarter size one (9-1/2 x 13 inch). So I made 1/4 of the recipe. I am not sure if anything was wrong with this. Anyway the pizza is good enough as it is crispy which is how it should be.

The recipe is adapted from Daniel Leader’s “Local Breads”. I found the blog “Hungrig in San Francisco” also posted the recipe, so I am not typing it again.

Now I’m submitting this to BBD#21. Enjoy & Cheers!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. elisabeth from KAF

     /  July 3, 2009

    That looks absolutely wonderful. I love to do pizza on the grill making my dough a day or 2 ahead of time keeping it in the frig. I bring it out in the AM and let it sit on the counter all day until I am ready to use it in the evening. I bet your dough made with the all purpose was more tender verses chewy. EFB @ KAF

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by, Elisabeth. I’m happy to find KAF AP flour in Hong Kong, and have been using it for most of the breads here.:)Your way of fermenting the dough sounds convenient and delicious. Does it use little yeast? Yes you reminded me one word to describe my dough, it’s more tender than chewy, yet crispy!

      Reply
  2. I wanted to make it since a long time! Yours looks fantastic.

    Reply
    • Thanks for holding the BBD event, Zorra! I think having pizza is a great idea to celebrate the big day! Feel free to grasp some from mine! :D

      Reply
  3. Looks great, Sullivan street bakery makes this pizza, it’s a favorite of mine!

    Reply
  4. I am totaly blown away by your pizza. It’s gorgeous, the toppings are heavenly, and your photos are beautiful and mouth watering!

    Reply
    • Thanks, LisaMichelle. Love your challah, it’s on my list for festive bread now, believe many people will love it!

      Reply
  5. ça donne faim toute ces recettes, vivement que je mange moi.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

