Limpa – Swedish Rye

Limpa is a traditional Swedish rye bread. According to Peter Reinhart in The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, what makes it different from German and deli ryes is the use of aniseeds, fennel seeds, orange peel and a touch of cardamom. Recipe I used is from Reinhart’s another book Whole Grain Bread which fitted my schedule. Besides the spices and citrus, Reinhart’s recipe also has an overnight soaker and rye starter. The bread is moist, rich and heavenly fragrant, and I love it so much!

Some websites also mentioned Swedish Vört Limpa which is offered mainly in Christmas. The difference is the addition of some malt to the dough. I think the taste of limpa is already a wonderful treat for the season, and not as sinful as stollen or panettone.

I used whole rye starter at 83% hydration and whole wheat flour in the final dough. The dough was very sticky. I kneaded it only for 15-20 times and the dough had little strength. However it had very good rise in the oven. Hehehe, seems some luck with this bread. This delightful bread has started my good holiday. :)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I don’t words, excellent.

    Reply
  2. Hi Nat, I made a sinful stollen today and some mince pies are being cooked right now…. limpa would have been an excellent idea! Yours looks particuarly delicious – I have to confess, that even though I have Swedish relatives, this is a bread that I have never made.

    Have a peaceful and happy Christmas ! Best wishes, Joanna

    Reply
    • haha i had too many stollen already and this limpa is a good alternative for me. I wonder whether limpa is as common in Sweden as before? Anyway it tastes very good… Happy to know you on web, Joanna, best wishes to you too. :)

      Reply
  3. Greetiungs from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work sso I decided to check out your website onn my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the info you rovide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how faswt your blog loaded on my cell phonje ..
    I’m not eve using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, very good site!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

