Detmolder Three-Stage 90 Percent Sourdough Rye

This is an interesting bread to play with. The Detmolder method requires to build rye sourdough in 3 stage under accurate temperature:

Refreshing Stage - Moist!

1st stage (Refreshing phase): develops yeast cells with a high hydration paste (150% water) that matures for 5-6 hours at 77-79F (mine 77F)

2nd stage (Basic sour): add more rye and water for a stiff textured paste (60-65% hydration) that ripens for 15-24 hours at 73-80F (mine 77F). This is to develop acetic acid for the sour tang

3rd stage (Full sour): add more rye and water for a moist paste (100% hydration), ferment for 3-4 hours at 85F (mine 86F). This favors to develop lactic acid for a smooth and mild acidity to the bread

2nd stage - see it breathing!

The interesting part for home bakers is to look for an area or other innovative solutions for the desired temperature. My boyfriend definitely found it interesting to see me measuring temperature at different places and put sourdough near the computer (77F). On the 3rd stage it was on top of the computer monitor (86F). I love my pc. My boyfriend did not know what I was exactly doing at the beginning hence put the dough back to the kitchen. A little accident. ;)

As always it’s not hard to make bread, I didn’t even knead this one and just mixed the final dough with a metal spoon until no apparent grain of flour was seen (no knead dough?). All is the long fermentation period. This one has taken 5+18+4+1+1=29 hours from refreshing to out of oven. O yes, and another 1 day to let the crumb stabilize before cutting. It was an exciting moment.. I once made the Vollkornbrot before which also needed to stabilize the crumb but the crumb just fell apart… Whew! Luckily this one was fine!

I used Doves Organic Rye Flour for the bread. For medium rye I just weighed an equal amount of organic rye and shifted half of the flour to remove the bran as medium rye. I baked the dough for 50 mins but it was a bit too moist. Should bake for longer time with my oven. Also seems too much flour on the baked bread~ Taste, little sour, strong in rye, strong in the good flavor of a long fermented bread. Worth to appreciate .. and serve little by little … I told myself of that ;)

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. O yes I forgot, what is “Detmolder”? Why did my bread crack but Hamelman’s didn’t??

    Reply
  2. This is very interesting! I hope I have the time to play with it.

    Reply
  3. joanna

     /  February 1, 2011

    It looks fabulous Nat. I think that maybe Hamelman docks the tops? Makes a series of holes in the top before he bakes it. I made some little holes in mine that i baked in a pan (tin) with a pickle fork with two prongs. Mine cracked on the sides a little though.

    I wish I had some of your rye here right now. It looks so very good :)

    Reply
    • Hihi I used chopstick to make some holes too.. :P. Maybe not enough? Ah.. need more practice in my baking anyway ~

      Reply
  1. Tweets that mention Detmolder Three-Stage 90 Percent Sourdough Rye « Bao/Bread -- Topsy.com
  2. Sourdough Rye Bread with Caraway and Onion « Spoon Feast

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

