Amaranth Sourdough

I love playing around with different grains. When I saw the Amaranth Flour from Bob’s Red Mill in the supermarket, I bought it without hesitation. There was very little information about amaranth flour in my bread books on hand. Luckily I found a formula on whole grain sourdough in MC’s blog. MC is a devoted blogger on bread who shares so much information about her SFBI workshops and passionately visited and introduced to us different bread bakers in her blog where I’ve learnt a lot. Do visit her site (though I guess many of you already know her). :)

 

Back to amaranth flour. It is gluten-free as it is not wheat and is produced from amaranth grain. It has a  smell of grass and raw carrots. The formula in MC’s blog was suggested by Safa Hamzé who was the instructor the SFBI workshop and has developed techniques working with whole grains. You can find some of the information in an article in “Whole Grain Mania” in Baking Management.

Hence this bread is made of 20% amaranth starter. The starter smelt less “grassy” when ripen but did not smell as sweet as starter made of wheat.There was no amaranth flour in the final dough and so overall amaranth flour was abot 9%. When baking the bread gained color pretty quickly and turned into beautiful reddish-brown. Safa mentioned in the Baking Management article that amaranth kept moisture well which I agree from my result this time. The crumb of my bread was nicely moist and did not stale as quickly on the next day. The crumb was also open and color was yellower. However I could not taste the slight lactic flavor as mentioned in the article. I could not taste the “grassy” flavor from the amaranth neither.

I am happy with the result of this time and agree with Safa that bakers can consider adding amaranth flour to their breads in order to help extending shelf life of the bread. Safa has suggested overall gluten free flour should remain under 15% in overall formulation,  and I will try playing around with 15% of amaranth flour next time.

This bread will be submitted to Yeastspotting. Let me know if you have more ideas or other information about amaranth or whole grain sourdough. :)

Recipe:

Bread flour 250g 100%
Water 163g 65%
Salt 5.5g (approx) 2.2%
Amaranth Starter (100% hydration) 50g 20%
Instant Yeast 1/8 tp (approx) 0.2%

*I baked at 220C for first 25mins, the bread gained much color that time. Then I lowered to 200C for another 10mins, and kept the bread in oven for another 5 mins with oven turned off.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Thank you for writing up your experiences of making amaranth sourdough – I’ve come across numerous references to it and was rather curious as to what non-gluten-free bakers would think of it.

    The crumb looks good and I’m eager to learn at first hand what the reddish-brown crust looks like so much slot it into my baking schedule.

    Reply
    • Thanks :) I am happy with the result because the crumb was chewy, moist and the crust was appealing. Do let me know what you think after you made it. I’m thinking to make gluten free muffins or cookies too.. umum … so many ideas.. i wish my weekend can be longer :)

      Reply
  2. Lovely grigne on that loaf, I love the whole loaf photo – just gorgeous and an interesting write up. Would it be something you would bake again do you think? That’s always the 64 $ question ;)

    I must confess I’ve never baked with it.. though I have heard it mentioned.Oh and I am a big fan of Farine too. I love the videos she posts. You learn something every time you visit her blog.

    Reply
    • I was lucky enough with the grigne this time… I may not make this bread for 2nd time as it’s costly to feed an amaranth sourdough .. 600g costed me about 6 pounds.. if just for the reddish color and moist crumb. What about adding a little of it to bread? I think I’ll try this out later. :) Farine is definitely a great baker ;)

      Reply
  3. This is interesting! Did you buy the flour in CC Super?

    Reply
    • Yes!! CC Super in TST, but that’s very ocassional. I found some organic or health shops sell amaranth flour too, you may go to take a look in those if CC Super’s out of stock ~

      Reply
  4. Also, thanks for your sharing of SFBI!
    Coz I should be in San Francisco later for a work trip.

    Reply
    • Ah!! Jealous … i wish to travel for baking workshops or just for bread too ~

      Reply
  5. Beautiful bread… You got a fantastic crumb. Honestly I didn’t see better at SFBI. Congratulations and thanks for the very nice comments on Farine!

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by MC. Without your recipe and information I could not get this result, much thanks!! Keep up your great work! :)

      Reply
  6. Inspired by you I fond a bag of amaranth flakes in the wholefood store the other day and I will either add them as a soaker to a loaf or try and grind it up finer to use as a sort of flour, but I think my food processor might not be good enough for that. It does smell grassy, really distincitve smell! I’m looking forward to trying it out. :)

    Reply
    • Amaranth flakes, sounds interesting!! Is it cereal?

      Good luck to your bread!! ;)

      Reply
  7. Good morning Nat, Joanna and everyone.

    I have the other half of Joanna’s bag of amaranth.
    And will report back how I get on.

    Nice to see something that captures the interest so on a blog.

    Reply
  8. I found the amaranth on the shelf yesterday and thought I knew I meant to make something with this, and to my shame I have forgotten all about it. Will try and do it this month x Joanna

    Reply
  9. Amaranth Flour are used in many ways to make a many different tasty thing as per the requirements of the peoples thanks to the Bob’s Red Mill who make it possible.

    Reply
  1. Sourdough with Amaranth Flour « Bao/Bread
  2. Sourdough with Amaranth Flour « Bao/Bread

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

