Nils’s 60/40 Rye (Ze 60/40)

Life is miserable when I need to eat those commercial, pseudo and bland bread for breakfast. This is what happened to me in the last 2 months. Working day and night and not having the time to prepare a dinner or bake something for myself. Why can’t there be better breakfast or dinner choices in Hong Kong? In the coming months I wish to keep on baking at least once a week and preparing dishes for myself. That means much better management of my work and life.

Always happy to see the sourdough rise. It smells naturally sweet and great :)

I’m happy to see my sourdough got energized after feeding for once though I didn’t take care of it for 4 months. My good companion, haha. The bread tastes really good too. I particularly like it after after the first day when all the flavors mellow. Mildly sour, mildly moist, strong wheat flavor, moderate bites from the brans of rye flour, lightly charred and thick crust. Thanks Nils who shares so many great German bread recipes. :) You might take a look at Joanna’s blog as well which had very good result with this recipe too.

I used Dan Lepard’s method to rest and knead the dough. The bread is comfortably done under the hot weather. :)

Real breakfast tomorrow ~ Yay~

Nils’s 60/40

  • 270g rye sourdough, hydration: 100%, made from fine dark rye flour, Type 1150 (I used Doves Farm’s Organic Wholemeal Rye Flour)
  • 135g fine dark rye flour, Type 1150
  • 180g strong white flour, Type 550 (I used Gold Medal’s Bread Flour)
  • 200g warm water, temperature: 52°C minus Your ambient temperature (I used tap water)
  • 2g fresh yeast
  • 9g sea salt

Mix to a smooth dough, let rest 45 minutes, give a turn and let rise for another 45 minutes. (I used Dan Lepard’s method to rest and knead the dough – mix the dough, rest for 10 mins and knead for 10 sec. Have rest and knead for 2 more times. Then I let the dough rise for 1 hour and didn’t turn the dough more)

Shape oblong or round, proof for about 1 hour, slash and bake at 260°C for 5 minutes with steam, reduce heat to 220°C and bake for a further 45 minutes. Let cool completely.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ze Nils 60/40 is one of the very best recipes around! I love this bread – in fact I’m drooling at your beautiful slashes and the contrast of the colours in that top photo. Yum yum yum :)

    Reply
    • Thanks! How are you doing? haha yes I know you like this bread a lot. I just added a link to reference to yours good looking Nils 60/40 of your blog :)

      Reply
  2. Gorgeous! Absolutely gorgeous! :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

