Sourdough with Amaranth Flour

A sourdough with 13.5% of amaranth flour (to all flour) added to the final dough. Overall hydration is 68%. The bread this time darkened even more quickly compared with the amaranth sourdough that I made before which the overall amaranth was about 9%. I covered the crust with aluminum foil in the midway to avoid the crust getting burnt before the crumb was fully baked. Texture with the increased amaranth flour was also not as chewy as last time as well. I still love the beautiful reddish brown color that the amaranth flour gives to the crust.. :-) Now I’m thinking of other bread recipes with amaranth flour for next time. Any good ideas? :-)

Recipe

Bread Flour 212.5g 85%
Amaranth Flour 37.5g 15%
Water 163g 65%
Salt 5g 2%
Starter (100% Hydration with Bread Flour) 50g 20%

220C for 15 mins. Then lower to 200C for another 20 mins.

Love the Blister ~

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. That’s a very beautiful blistered grigne you’ve got there and I don’t think it’s too dark at all, it looks like my sort of bread. To my shame I STILL have the amaranth flour untouched on the shelf, I was thinking maybe about toasting it lightly before adding to a dough. I wonder if that would work?

    Does it taste grassy? Uncooked it has a grassy aroma to me. :)

    Reply
    • Hahah this is the amaranth flour that I have it untouched since last time I made the amaranth sourdough as well… :) Luckily it has a long shelf life. I think the taste of the bread is more grassy this time. Maybe it’s better to keep the amount at 10% to all flour.. I’m not sure if turning it to starter can help reducing the grassy flavor as well.. Great idea for toasting the flour. Let me try toasting some next time and see how they’ll turn out… :)

      Reply
  2. Just discovered your brilliant blog! I’m an avid, but very much amateur, baker so looking forward to finding lots more inspiration here :-)

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by! Look forward to seeing more bread in your blog soon. Good luck!

      Reply
  3. Looks yummy! Where did you buy amaranth flour in Hong Kong?

    Reply
  1. Priceless Paintings from W7 » Grow Your Own
  2. Jumble Spoiler – 11/08/11 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

