Baguette(Mini)

They are from Dan Lepard’s French Bread recipe recently published in the British Baker. An interesting recipe for me which uses three-quarters of the flour to make a ferment for the bread. For the flour I’ve used King Arthur’s Organic All Purpose instead of La Campaillette Des Champs flour.

I have only used 150g water for the final dough, as I couldn’t manage slashes on wet dough well. Overall hydration is 59.2%. The crumb still got some nice holes though the hydration is not high and the preferment is stiff (50% hydration). :-)

My dough had bulk fermentation for 4.5 hours instead of 2-3 hours indicated in the recipe. There were some spots of “irregular aeration” at the 3rd hour, however I was not sure whether that was enough. Hence I just left the dough for longer time. Also I proofed the baguettes seam-side down and they were under-proof because I want to make sure they have good oven spring in the oven.

They are some mini baguettes. Dough was 80g each. Just to fit in my mini-oven. I’ve made a 100% sourdough spelt too. I’ll post it up some time later. It’s nice to end my 3-day holiday with some bread baking. :-)

This will be submitted to the YeastSpotting.

Recipe is here.

 

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. theinversecook

     /  October 3, 2010

    They look great. Very nice crumb!

    Reply
  2. Fantastic looking mini baguettes, bravo! I might try that recipe soon with einkorn flour. Thanks and have a nice day :)

    Reply
  3. I’d like to publish your 1st photo of the baguettes with a link toward your post on tomorrow’s Weekly Bread. Is that OK with you?

    Reply
  4. Great Nat! Those mini baguettes have such a beautiful crumb!!

    Reply
  5. Nat, these look WONDERFUL! Hard to believe you could achieve all those magnificent holes with plain (AP) flour…wow…

    Reply
    • Thanks, Celia! I saw some bloggers used KA’s AP for making baguettes. Maybe you can have a try too. :)

      Reply
  6. You’ve made a beautiful job of it Nat! :) It looks delicious!

    Reply
  7. Alice @bakeduprising

     /  October 4, 2010

    Great shape, lovely looking crust. I will have to try the recipe some time.

    Reply
  8. These look amazing. And so cute, too! I just discovered your blog via flickr and am really enjoying seeing all of your beautiful breads. :)

    Reply
  9. bergamot

     /  October 9, 2010

    looks great… love the shape & the texture of the bread

    Reply
  10. Hi, I disovered your blog from Yahoo Blog.
    Your baguettes look great! I want to try the formula above. If I use fresh yeast. How much shoud I put?

    Thanks for your sharing. :)

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by. I also used fresh yeast, and the amount was the same as the recipe. Good luck!

      Reply
  1. L’hebdo du pain // Weekly Bread (n°7, 4 octobre 2010) – VOTRE PAIN
  2. YeastSpotting October 8, 2010 | Wild Yeast

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

